I Am Immortal: A Snippet from an Old Journal

I’m being sentimental these past few days. Maybe because of my flu and fever which made me think I could not make it through the day. When I was still at home, I read all the articles, poems, and short stories which I wrote during my college days. And I realized I’ve been missing a lot of things. The write-ups and the pictures were so reminiscent to the point of being nostalgic. I cried, I smiled, I felt bad.

I have forgotten to accept the fact that everything in this world is temporary. What do you know? I’m clingy and sentimental. I have always wished things were still the same. That I can always go back and find the circumstances as they were before. Alas, times are indeed changing, and as the cliché goes, “we must go with the flow.”

Reading all the articles I wrote in The Augustinian Mirror, the poems published in Irong-Irong, and the short stories published in SanAg, I come to believe that I have the power to halt time. I can always go back to the past amid this fast-paced world.

Thus, even in my sufferings, even with this illness that encumbers me, I am still happy. Because even if i die tomorrow, I know deep within me, I am immortal.

2 thoughts on “I Am Immortal: A Snippet from an Old Journal

Leave a Reply

