Today in the Classroom: More than Words

Undeniably, I had a great time in the classroom today although there were few annoying encounters with students in my remedial english class.  Despite feeling a little bit dizzy, I forced myself to attend to my classes.  The dilemma of the delayed contract still preoccupies me, but as much as possible, I wouldn’t let this worry stand in the way of my responsibility being a teacher.  I would always remind myself to think of happy thoughts, and I was glad my students put a smile on my face especially during my Philippine literature class.  I realized that, sometimes, when I find myself paddling in the mud, little gestures of enthusiasm from my students can somehow ease the burden inside.  I try to shift my paradigm, but I couldn’t help but believe that money, though important as it is, can never replace passion.

The blogger and his students during their humanities art exposure

So, here’s a recap of what happened inside the classroom:

  • Quiz on the function of noun as a subject.  It’s saddening that most of the students cannot still identify the subject in the sentence.  They earned disastrous scores and they demanded a retake.  I gave the simple rule and they complicated it.  Just underline the simple subject.  They also underlined the modifiers and the prepositional phrases.  What is so difficult about asking “What or who is being talked about in the sentence?”  But the redeeming value of it all?  They realized their mistakes and they wanted to have more exercises. That determination and eagerness to learn are good enough for me.
  • It’s more fun in the Philippine literature class.  I assigned my students to choose one hurubaton (proverb) and they had to think of a situation that illustrates the proverb.  Such creative minds.  Such invigorated spirits.  Although one group interpreted the proverb “Together we stand, divided we fall” literally and I was like “Are you kidding me?”  But one group kind of blew my mind.  I think everybody’s mind, and brought us all to giggles.  So their proverb conveyed the message of resilience.  It’s about a couple drawn apart by a tragedy.  As the wife struggles to move on, a man “eggs” himself on the former until his persistence eventually yields result as the wife finally opens herself to another shot at love.  I thought it was cute.  And I really admire all the groups for showcasing their creativity and sensibility to come up with commendable presentations.
  • The perks of being a teacher. We talked about books in my English 101 class.  Imagine the excitement of the students when I asked them to share their favorite novels.  Although I came up with a generalization that in this class, there is a group of readers and a group of non-readers.  The group of readers are those who won the Hangaroo game (wherein they had to guess the title of the books/reading materials), and the non-reader groups are those who stayed passive during the game.  In the end, I reminded them that it really pays to read.  What really elated me was one of my students guessed the longest title I had in my list: The Perks of Being a Walllflower.  That made them won the game.
Leave a Reply

