Day 4 of 30: Must Write

“I fell in love with the written word when I was five or six.  I began reading biblical stories and I got fascinated by tales of saints and angels.  No wonder my first attempt at writing was based on these subjects.  My first poem was a prayer.  Right there and then, my romance with the pen started to unfold.  Writing has been the greatest part of my life.  I pour myself, my soul to it.  When some people would ask me, why aren’t you winning awards?  Maybe because I don’t write to reap medals and cash prizes.  There are other ways to please the Muse.  And I guess, when someone writes only for the sake of fame and fortune, he somehow betrays his gift.  One writes because “he must”. As Rilke posited in his “Letters to a Young Poet,” ‘one should build [his] life in accordance with this necessity; [his] whole life, even into its humblest and most indifferent hour, must become a sign and witness to this impulse’.  I’m doing the same thing.  And I guess, at times when I lay down my pen and take respite from writing, the Muse is always there–lurking. Calling.”

Leave a Reply

