When Bullcrap Happens, I Turn to Broadway Musical: My Top Ten Inspirational Broadway Songs

Aside from listening to Christian songs, I turn to Broadway music for some inspiration whenever I feel so down in the dumps.  Though these two genres are, well, quite on the extreme sides, what I love about the latter (Broadway, that is) is that it gives me that feeling of freedom to vent-off certain negative vibes by blurting out well, utterances, I might say, God would never like to hear.  Not that some Broadway songs are vulgar, but singing along with the music that attunes the lyrics with the bullshit I am feeling at that certain moment,is, well, cathartic. So without further ado, and in random order, here’s the top ten songs from my favorite Broadway musicals that lift my spirit when life puts me in a disconcerting spotlight.

1. Song Title: Purpose
Musical: Avenue Q
Inspirational Lines from the Lyrics:

I DON’T KNOW HOW I KNOW,
BUT I’M GONNA FIND
MY PURPOSE.
I DON’T KNOW WHERE
I’M GONNA LOOK,
BUT I’M GONNA FIND
MY PURPOSE.
GOTTA FIND OUT,
DON’T WANNA WAIT!
GOT TO MAKE SURE THAT MY
LIFE WILL BE GREAT!
GOTTA FIND MY PURPOSE
BEFORE IT’S TOO LATE.

2. Song Title: All That’s Known
Musical: Spring Awakening
Inspirational Lines from the Lyrics: The whole song actually. Just refer to the video 🙂

3. Song Title: Corner of the Sky
Musical: Pippin
Inspirational Lines from the Lyrics:

So many men seem destined
To settle for something small
But I won’t rest until I know I’ll have it all
So don’t ask where I’m going
Just listen when I’m gone
And far away you’ll hear me singing
Softly to the dawn

4. Song Title: Whistle Down the Wind
Musical: (same title)
Inspirational Lines from the Lyrics

5. Song Title: Defying Gravity
Musical: Wicked
Inspirational Songs from the Lyrics:

So if you care to find me
Look to the western sky!
As someone told me lately:
“Ev’ryone deserves the chance to fly!”
And if I’m flying solo
At least I’m flying free
To those who’d ground me
Take a message back from me
Tell them how I am
Defying gravity
I’m flying high
Defying gravity
And soon I’ll match them in renown
And nobody in all of Oz
No Wizard that there is or was
Is ever gonna bring me down!

6. Song Title: Role of a Lifetime
Musical: bare
Inspirational Lines from the Lyrics:

7. Song Title: Endless Night
Musical: The Lion King
Inspirational Lines from the Lyrics:

I’m trying to hold on
Just waiting to hear your voice
One word, just a word will do
To end this nightmare

I know that the night must end
And that the sun will rise

8. Song Title: Electricity
Musical: Billy Elliot
Inspirational Lines from the Lyrics:

9. Song Title: Seasons of Love
Musical: Rent
Inspirational Lines from the Lyrics:

JOANNE
Five hundred twenty-five thousand
Six hundred minutes!
Five hundred twenty-five thousand
Journeys to plan.

Five hundred twenty-five thousand
Six hundred minutes
How do you measure the life
Of a woman or a man?

COLLINS
In truths that she learned,
Or in times that he cried.
In bridges he burned,
Or the way that she died.

10. Song Title: Seize the Day
Musical: Newsies
Inspirational Lines from the Lyrics:

Leave a Reply

