Ten Things I Hate About My Dad*

Image

I hate the way he puffs his cigar
and the way he drinks his beer
I hate the way he talks
Like a broken record
when he’s drunk.
I hate the sound of his motorcycle
As I catch him leave the house.
I hate it when he plays
Some Kinaray-a songs on his phone
I hate it so much it makes me smile
Not all dads have his taste
I hate the way he always asks
“What dish shall I prepare
for you today?”
I hate it when he hugs me tight
Like I’m still a six year old child
But mostly, I hate the way I don’t hate it
Not even close…
Not even a little bit…
Not even at all…

 (*inspired by the poem from the movie “Ten Things I Hate About You”)

Father’s Day Quote:

“Sometimes I think my papa is an accordion. When he looks at me and smiles and breathes, I hear the notes.” 

― Markus Zusak, The Book Thief

 

 

Leave a Reply

