Starting from Scratch

So this is the first time I blog right after I left Iloilo to work here in Manila.  I arrived November 2, but I didn’t immediately start because I had to accomplish some pre-employment requirements like getting an NBI clearance and medical exam.  Surprisingly, it was a speedy process because I completed these requirements immediately within a day.  It really pays to be patient.  Despite all these, I never lost focus.  This is Manila, and I have nothing else to depend on but myself.  

I spent two weeks waiting for the result before I plunged into work.  Good thing my sister arrived from Riyadh, so I got to somehow enjoy my vacant week.  I must say, I totally took a respite from all the stresses brought about by teaching life.  Amid the traffic and the noise and the pollution, I found solace in the thought that I will never have to burden myself solving grades and dealing with handful students.  Not that I hate teaching, but, really, I just needed a new environment. Sure, I will miss the classroom, but for now, I need to breathe (the Manila way, perhaps?).  

When the social media manager informed me that my medical result is okay, I couldn’t get even more excited.  That was Tuesday.  Since I had already acclimatized myself to the environment, I could say, I am prepared.  So, I reported for duty Wednesday afternoon and started working immediately.  I just wanna say that I love the workplace, not because it’s GMA-7, but because the people I’m working with are the coolest.  My bosses especially.  It’s kinda unusual because most of my workmates are virtual.  There are like fifteen of us in the social media team, but I could only see two or three people working in the cubicle.  The thing is, we are not really required to report and work in the office.  We can work from home because all our tasks are done online.  That is the perk of being a multimedia producer.  I get to work at home, which in a way is good.  For now, I’m not feeling a lot of pressure.  It’s a kind of job that is not really a job because I get to enjoy what I’m doing.  Yes, this is the first time that I have said these words.  I love my current job.  It’s a whole lot different from teaching, apparently.  And after five years, I know for a fact, that I must start from scratch.  It really doesn’t matter. Taking it all in, I consider this a new chapter in my life.

 

2 thoughts on “Starting from Scratch

  1. Hello there, I found your web site by the use of Google whilst searching for
    a similar subject, your site got here up, it appears great.
    I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, just become aware of your weblog thru Google, and
    found that it’s really informative. I am going to
    be careful for brussels. I’ll appreciate when you continue this in future.

    A lot of folks can be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

