Nature Boy

Ruce_registrované_partnerství

There was a boy
A very strange enchanted boy
They say he wandered very far
Very far, over land and sea

I met him last summer. April, to be exact. No I never met him at that time. Yet. It was through social media that we got to keep in touch with each other.  He had me at Murakami. I immediately fell for him. At least when he showed me his shelf filled with Murakami books. I’m not really a fan of Haruki Murakami. I just love people who read. There. He stirred up something in me. And I told myself, I want to meet this guy. Everyday, I yearned for it. Meeting, that is. But we just contented ourselves with the usual greetings. Hi. Hello. And then it turned into sweet nothings. And FB request. Instagram request.  

I loved the whole texting thing though. I’ve never been a fan of SMS, but at that moment,  there was something in it that connected the hearts. I don’t know. Or was it just me, falling victim for those almost amorous exchanges of words.  I found it strange at first.  To be  honest, I have never done it before. With a guy.  I never knew the word “queer” until I found myself checking my phone every second or sleeping at wee hours in the morning Skyping with him. Oh, it was so good to be true.

A little shy and sad of eye
But very wise was he

And then one day, a magic day
He passed my way, and while we spoke
Of many things, fools and kings
This he said to me

That was our second meeting. It was Mother’s Day.  Right after my work, we agreed to have lunch. And talked about our jobs, me being a multimedia producer, he being…  Well, he didn’t talk about his job.  But that didn’t matter. We talked about issues of the network and how pissed off he was of the teleseryes.  He’s showbiz-inclined as he loved to watch movies and write about them. He’d never admit that he’s a critic, and told me he just writes about anything.  We talked about language and we almost argued about binukot.  I was engaged and I just watched him.  He was silent.  “I’m not really a talker,” he said.  The I asked him, “It’s Mother’s Day! Are you close to your mom?” 

Then the revelation: “I’m abandoned.” Right that moment, again, I knew, I had to be with him.  During our first meeting, we promised to be there for each other. Now, I’m not sure if he can still remember that.  I hope he still does.  Because I don’t, I won’t.

 I’m not going to tell the story about abandonment. I felt bad and sorry.  

As we parted ways, we thanked each other for the time.  I went back to work and we Skyped.

“The greatest thing you’ll ever learn
Is just to love and be loved in return.”

Leave a Reply

