Haiku+Calligraphy: Weekend Project

callHi everyone! I know I haven’t posted anything new lately.  Preoccupations and limited connectivity floored me these past few days so I put aside this blog to focus on work.  I usually go out on weekends to hang out with a few friends or watch a play whenever my thin wallet allows me to pay for the tix.  It’s good that this rainy season keeps me grounded at home so I have enough time to ponder on life and what to do with it.  Also, it helps me unleash my creative prowess.  Stuck at the apartment, I usually turn the music on and take a video of myself singing.  Aside from that, I found another way to put my artistry to use.  I’ve always considered myself a visual artist, so I thought of combining this skill with my other passion: poetry.  Cursive and calligraphy have become popular art forms and I’ve seen a lot  of Instagram posts on letter -writing.  So, I thought, why not?  Hence, I decided to create my own way to somehow introduce Kinaray-a poetry with oriental twist. For my weekend project, let me take out my brushes and gouache and drawing pad to scribble metaphors into 5-7-5 syllables.

The image above is an example of what I did last Saturday.  I’m planning to fill my watercolor pad with haikus written in my own language which is Kinaray-a.  How cool is that?  You can also check my artworks (including my doodles) by following my IG account: @doodleinmahmind and my personal IG: @estogonon

Do you have you own weekend project?

Leave a Reply

