#CONFESSION: Singing Solo in Public

Last Saturday, I sang at the Broadway Open Mic organized by Sixteen Bars. It was my second time to go and sing at the event which gathered all Broadway musical enthusiasts. Needless to say, I always look forward to this open mic as I and my friend would do a duet of our fave Broadway songs. But this time, aside from the duet, I had to perform solo.

I never sang in public. That doesn’t count videoke sessions with my friends and family. This time, I had to perform right in front of strangers with the same interest as I have. I must admit, I don’t have that much confidence when it comes to this form of art. I mean, I have performed on stage. But I never sang. I have no experience of joining singing contests in high school because I never considered myself a singer.

Though I sometimes post videos of me singing in my bedroom, it’s because I feel comfortable doing it alone. But sometimes, we need to challenge ourselves and defy that demon that tells us “you can’t do it”. So, I gathered my resolve and perform that solo. Taking the stage (without a partner) was quite unnerving. It’s not like you are going to receive a diploma or perform poetry-in-motion. Singing is a different thing. You think of the lyrics and melody and worry that you might be singing off-key. Honestly, my whole body was shaking, and I never had the time to shake off the nerves. But for the love of Broadway musicals, I did it. And I did. I swear it was one of the best moments of my life. People might say that I’m a very shy person. I may be one, but when the ocassion calls for something like performing a song or sanything, I’m all up for it.

“Falling” was not the only song I sang during the open mic.  I was surprised that after performing my solo and a duet, someone approached me and asked me if we could sing a duet of “Stars” from Les Miserables.  No second thoughts.  Since I actually longed to perform that song.  Another dream come true.

Here’s a video of my solo performance during the open mic:

Leave a Reply

