My Anti-Valentine’s Day Playlist

Because Valentine’s Day is a social construct. And all we need are tunes that remind us that being single is just as awesome as having a significant other. Right? Right.

#1 SINGLE by Natasha Bedingfield

I don’t need to be anyone’s baby
(Is that so hard to understand?)
No I don’t need another half to make me whole

#2 YOU OUGHTA KNOW by Alanis Morisette

And I’m here to remind you
Of the mess you left when you went away
It’s not fair to deny me
Of the cross I bear that you gave to me
You, you, you oughta know

#3 YOUR EX-LOVER IS DEAD by Stars

There’s one thing I want to say, so I’ll be brave/ You were what I wanted I gave what I gave /I’m not sorry I met you/ I’m not sorry it’s over/ I’m not sorry there’s nothing to say

#4 TAINTED LOVE by Soft Cell

Now I know I’ve got to
Run away, I’ve got to
Get away, you don’t really want any more from me
To make things right
You need someone to hold you tight
And you think love is to pray
But I’m sorry, I don’t pray that way

#5 SOMEBODY TOLD ME by The Killers

Well somebody told me you had a boyfriend
Who looked like a girlfriend
That I had in February of last year
It’s not confidential, I’ve got potential

#6 IF IT FEELS GOOD DO IT by Sloan

If it feels good do it even if you shouldn’t
Dont let people mess you around
Feels good do it even if you shouldnt
Nobody can mess you around

#7 SHE’S OUT OF MY LIFE by Michael Jackson

So I’ve Learned That Love’s Not Possession
And I’ve Learned That Love Won’t Wait
Now I’ve Learned That Love Needs Expression
But I Learned Too Late

#8 LOVE SONG by Sarah Bareilles

You and your twisted words
Your help just hurts
You are not what I thought you were
Hello to high and dry

#9 SONG FOR THE DUMPED by Ben Folds

Well fuck you too
Give me my money back
Give me my money back
you bitch
I want my money back
(And don’t forget to give
me back my black T-Shirt)

#10 LOVE STINKS by J. Geils Band

You love her but she loves him
And he loves somebody else you just can’t win
And so it goes till the day you die
This thing they call love it’s gonna make you cry

Feeling better now?

 

 

Leave a Reply

